Posted by: Alexander | April 14, 2012

Warming up in the Bahamas

Airlines are tough people to deal with. They always want something for nothing and then want more on top of that. Give them an inch and they’ll take a mile. The older the airline is, the more curmudgeon-like they are.

Way back in 2001 or 2002, I was contacted by someone at Bahamasair. (That’s the national airline of the Bahamas, if the name didn’t tip you off).

He was a 737-200 pilot for said airline and a member of the board with some influence.

He had seen my work and was impressed. He told me that in the coming year, Bahamasair would be getting together with the Bahamas’ Ministry of Tourism to promote the Caribbean archipelago.

Bahamasair wanted a livery based on the new logo for the aforementioned ministry.

Over the next 18 months or so, I bashed out over 300 livery designs. Slowly but surely the options were whittled down to one design, a few tweaks over a couple of months and it was rubber stamped. I sent them the painting instructions, logos, colour charts and the kitchen sink.

While the aircraft was in the paint shop, somebody made several changes to the livery. The resulting livery is clean, but a little bit of a mish-mash and doesn’t look exactly like I had envisioned it. Oh well, “c’est la vie” as the French say.

(Recently it was announced they were getting 737-500s from Argentina, so I drew up the current design on a 500 template for my friend who is still a pilot with them.)

In the years since the launch of the current livery, I’ve stayed in contact with my friend and periodically other members of the Bahamasair board.

At one point, the idea of acquiring 757s was gathering momentum. At that precise time, I had developed an “out of the box” livery inspired by the Junkanoo. So I illustrated it on a 757:

Responses

  1. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time
    both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!


Leave a Reply

Categories

